STMA Issues Founders Awards

The Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) issued awards of special recognition during its 14th Annual Conference and Exhibition held in San Antonio, Texas. STMA’s four Founders Awards are issued in the names of STMA Founders Dick Ericson, George Toma, Dr. William H. Daniel and Harry Gill, and are the highest awards issued by the association.

The 2002 Dick Ericson Award was presented to Eric Adkins, CSFM*, athletic turf manager for Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich. The recipient of the 2002 George Toma Golden Rake Award was Jesse Cuevas, stadium superintendent for Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Neb. The recipient of the 2002 Dr. William H. Daniel Award was David M. Gilstrap, coordinator of the two-year program in Sports and Commercial Turf Management at Michigan State University’s Institute of Agricultural Technology in East Lansing, Mich. The recipient of the 2002 Harry C. Gill Memorial Award was Ross Kurcab, CSFM, turf manager for Invesco Field at Mile High, Denver, Colo.

* The CSFM designation acknowledges the individual has attained Certified Sports Field Manager status through the rigorous Certification program developed and administered by STMA.

Interactive Products

Equipment Blue Book

Used Equipment Valuation Guide

Riding mowers, lawn tractors, snow throwers, golf carts


Grounds Maintenance Jobs

search our jobs database, upload your resume